Skip to content

Spoiled Wars

December 25, 2015

Some dude on the Hearthstone forums spoiled the biggest story point in Force Awakens. So I’m reduced to watching Force Awakens via… unconventional means, because I was planning to watch it after New Year (not all of us are free during the holidays y’know?), but now I gotta watch it through unconventional means to avoid being further spoiled before going to watch properly later.

Kids these days have no HONOR. Remember the days when the bro-code would actually prevent spoilers? Now you can’t even visit your own Facebook.

Anyway, I digress. I’ve finally watched the movie and there’s something I wanna mention. So, spoiler after the jump. Seriously, there’s a spoiler, so don’t click until you’ve seen the movie.

Oh, and by the way, the movie’s good. Go watch it when you can.

I just wanna say that Rey IS a Mary Sue. If you google “Rey Mary Sue”, you’ll find lots of articles saying she’s NOT a Mary Sue. These articles are written by idjits. Rey IS a Mary Sue. In fact, she checks off more Mary Sue boxes than a lot of characters who are universally agreed as Mary Sues.

The thing is, that’s NOT necessarily a bad thing. I like Rey. I’m fine with her being a Mary Sue in this movie. It doesn’t offend me.

All I’m saying is, don’t believe articles that say she isn’t, especially if they insist on a narrow definition of Mary Sue (such as Mary Sues MUST be self inserts; because they DON’T) or if they try to turn it into a gender issue.

Otherwise, I ain’t gonna say no more ’cause I don’t wanna spoil the movie beyond this.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. preytorsanime permalink
    December 26, 2015 2:57 AM

    I seem to be one of the few people that didn’t enjoy the movie and the main reason lies within Rey being a Mary Sue.
    Her being a very strong character that always comes on top is not a problem by itself. The execution is.
    The way I see it, she is made to be the ideal hardcore-feminist character so none of them complain like they did with movies like the Avengers 2.
    She is not strong by herself but instead every guy around her is a completely useless idiot that always tries to save her but fails miserably. She knew more about the millennium falcon that Han Solo himself and at the beginning of the movie when Fin, a trained since birth soldier, tries to save her, she just casually beats up the bad guys while he dumbfoundedly stares at her.
    The feminist love letter doesn’t end there though.
    In the movie they explained how Stormtroopers are basically like the turkish Janissaries( children gathered from birth and trained to sacrifice their lives for the empire) which is a pretty sweet concept and basically makes the empire, space-nazi-turks. You can’t get any more evil.
    But what makes no sense whatsoever is that there are women stormtroopers and I am not talking about the General but about a random stormtrooper that had a woman’s voice. Why would they have women for soldiers, especially since she would be just a child when she was picked, so no extraordinary skills that defied her weak woman nature could be present. Does it really make sense if the space-nazi-turks promoted gender equality?
    The movie had some other weaknesses, like the Death Star 2.0 getting blown up in the exact same way but these were too small to make me actually care, and I LOVED Kylo as a bad guy.
    But as a whole, all the feminist bullshit just ruined my immersion into the universe and they were a very unpleasant addition that I hope are removed in the next installments.

    • December 26, 2015 4:03 AM

      While I enjoyed this movie, I can certainly see where you’re coming from. I was too preoccupied with the spoiler that my focus wasn’t on Rey too much. Alright, so spoilers now…

      Avert your eyes to avoid spoilage.

      I loved that Finn was basically the main character. Rey’s obviously the Chosen One, off doing her Chosen One things in relative background-ness. I thought she was secondary enough that it didn’t bother me. If she were in the forefront more, it would have broke that camel’s back.

      That said, Rey is the DEFINITION of Mary Sue.

      “By 1976 Menagerie’s editors stated that they disliked such characters, saying:

      Mary Sue stories—the adventures of the youngest and smartest ever person to graduate from the academy and ever get a commission at such a tender age. Usually characterized by unprecedented skill in everything from art to zoology, including karate and arm-wrestling. This character can also be found burrowing her way into the good graces/heart/mind of one of the Big Three [Kirk, Spock, and McCoy], if not all three at once. She saves the day by her wit and ability, and, if we are lucky, has the good grace to die at the end, being grieved by the entire ship.

      Okay, so, youngest person to graduate? When you look at her Force Feats, she outright outclasses Vader and Luke, given her ZERO training. Unprecedented skill in everything? Scavenger, mechanic, pilot… sure. I don’t have a problem with that. Knowing the Falcon as much if not more than Han? Streeeetching it, but I was too happy seeing so much Han at that point. Sharpshooter? Well, okay. Resisting a Force Probe? Again, believable, given that she’s obviously a Forcer herself. But what broke the camel’s back was the Jedi Mind Fucking Trick outta no where. Why would ANYBODY even think to do that? Don’t gimme that crap where she figured it out because Kylo was probing her mind. It’s not like Kylo was trying to mind CONTROL her. You mean, HE didn’t think to use Mind Control on her but she figured that reading minds = controlling them? Next, Han’s no Kirk, but she certainly burrowed her way into his heart to the point he offered her a position. And apparently she doesn’t even have the good grace to die at the end.

      So yeah, Mary Sue-ism ISN’T Self-Insert and Rey deserves that title more than other supposed Mary Sues.

      Look, I like the movie and when I like a movie, I can forgive its faults, but if what’s bugging you is Rey’s Mary Sue-ness? Totally justified. Everyone’s got different tolerances and you probably picked up he Mary Sue-ness before me, which exacerbated the feminazism in the rest of the movie.

      Also, I’m glad I’m not the only one to notice that female Stormtrooper. I thought I was mishearing things. Especially since no one else seems to be talking about that online. They tend to talk about Phasma when talking about the female ST. On the plus side, all boob armor ST cosplay has been debunked.

      If I have one other complaint about the movie though, it’s the base blowing up. I knew it was gonna happen, but hope that it wouldn’t. I was hoping that it’d just massively disable the base rather than blow it up. But eh, it’s Star Wars, wouldn’t be SW without a base blowing up.

      So, in closing, again, I like, hell, I kinda love the movie. But as with other movies I love, I can see and forgive what flaws they might have, but understand and respect if others can’t forgive said flaws.

      • December 26, 2015 4:18 AM

        Oh, and everybody loves her and is willing to die for her. Finn overcomes his survival instincts to risk his life and essentially kills for her.

        That said, I liked how everyone emphasized the word “girl!” when talking about her. Because you know she’s the first girl Finn’s ever held hands with. And that’s probably true for every Stormtrooper and from the looks of it, Kylo Ren himself. I’m actually fine with Finn’s behavior because I figure she’s the first girl he had contact with.

        “You’re the first person to not look at me like I’m a MOOOOOOOOOOOOONSTER!”

        Well Finn, it helps that she’s the first person to look at you while you’re not dressed in your SPACE NAZI uniform. In an alternate reality (according to Multiverse Theory), the first character to see Finn out of SPACE NAZI uniform is a gross, fat alien dude and the whole movie would be Finn lusting after that dude instead.

        • December 26, 2015 4:20 AM

          And that alien will be orange. And named Jake. And then Finn and Jake would go on lots of adventures in far off distant galaxies. The fun will never end.

          • preytorsanime permalink
            December 26, 2015 7:23 AM

            Try selling that idea to Disney for one of the spin-off SW movies. I would totally go watch this.

  2. Kenshin permalink
    December 26, 2015 7:23 AM

    Absolutely agreed. I was amazed at how many people online seem to feel oppositely. I get that the term Mary Sue has become incredibly overused, but in this case it is clearly appropriate.

    That and the fact that is was so similar to A New Hope were the biggest problems I had with it. Because of how similar they are it made it really predictable, to the point that both I and the person I saw it with guessed the spoiler you’re talking about long before that scene.

    The similarity actually makes it even more obvious how much of a Mary Sue Rey is. Comparing characters to the original, obviously Kylo is Vader and Snoke is the Emperor. Han is Obi-wan, BB8 is R2, ect. And Rey is Luke… And Han. And frankly a better than both of them. She’s able to fly the Falcon so well she does Finn’s job of aiming for him, and mere hours after learning of the Force she’s already pulling off Jedi mindtricks.

    Finn seems to be pretty much the only unique character in the movie. And of course he was completely overshadowed by Rey, even needing to be rescued by her several times.

    • December 29, 2015 12:32 AM

      I would have figured out that spoiler maybe around 20 minutes before it happened anyway. But instead, it ended up being something I went into the movie with.

      I knew virtually nothing about the movie prior to watching it. I thought Finn was going to be the comic relief black guy, which he was to a degree, but I totally dig him because of the amount of screen time he had. The best thing about Finn is that, spoiler, he IS a Stormtrooper. So he can take a beating without losing any credibility. As far as I’m concerned, he’s the real Luke.

Got Something To Say?

