Skip to content

Sword Art Online #3

September 30, 2015

deathfl

I’d feel bad for Sachi if she wasn’t raising so many damn death flags.

You know… I’m halfway through episode 3 and it’s not that bad so far. But I don’t think I’ll watch pass this episode. It’s not that the show is BAD bad. I mean, it sorta IS bad, especially the first 2 episodes. But not BAD bad. And it’s getting somewhat okay now.

The problem is there’s just no appeal for me personally. I never went through that stage where I thought angst and edginess was cool. I mean, I guess I do like some edginess, but daaaaaamn man, is “Kirito” the Japanese name/word for “Edgy McEdgersonovsky”?

I like anime that’s entertaining. But any entertainment derived from SAO is purely incidental. This show is entirely about the author’s “chuuni” fantasy.

Sword Art Online, up to episode 3, is all about the self insert of a 14 year old. It’s the 50 Shades of Gray of anime. It’s just the musings of someone during their “chuuni” stage. In fact, never having experienced such a stage myself, I find a greater appreciation for Chuunibyou Demo Koi ga Shita because of SAO.

So if you’re in that age group, SAO might be a timeless piece of fiction. So long as you watch it during that 14 to 24 age range, you’ll probably enjoy it.

Me? It makes me vomit out of sheer embarrassment that there was a time I’d probably really dig it.

No comments yet

Got Something To Say?

