Skip to content

Anime Recommendation of the Day: Panda-Z

September 8, 2015

pandaz

Given that my first recommendation was an action packed 3-parter and my second recommendation was a tad more subdued, I figure I’d recommend something comedic. But I also wanted it to be newer, a bit more mainstream, maybe have some of that moe factor etc… alas, we can’t always have our cake and eat it too.

So rather than try to find something that fit all those criteria above (because I can’t find anything that does), I’ll settle for a more “cleansing” dessert. Read or Die was the appetizer, Ryoko the main course, and now, to cap it off, I recommend to you… Panda-Z.

Or Robonimal Panda-Z: The Robonimation, if you prefer. While neither RoD or Ryoko were “heavy”, they weren’t “light” either. So to cap off this series of recommendations, something “refreshing” seemed appropriate. And even though it was released way back in 2004, Panda-Z is refreshing even today.

What is Panda-Z? It’s a panda in a robot. He fights other animals in robots. The animals are also robots. You have robots inside robots. There’s no dialogue, only the occasional title card you’d see in a silent movie. It’s pure action and music. The robot animals eat batteries. It makes you want to eat batteries because they sound so good when they crunch in the animals’ mouths. I bet they’re like crispy ravioli or something. Battery acid is marinara.

Well there you go. My trifecta of recommendations for someone who’s never seen anime before. Or seen some and doesn’t have a particularly broad view of anime. None of these recommendations are particularly deep but you don’t have to turn off your brain either. They cover a wide spectrum and don’t require a huge commitment of time, given that they’re all fairly short. There’s no 100+ episode commitment here. Also, the music in all 3 are pretty effin’ fantastic.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. preytorsanime permalink
    September 8, 2015 9:15 AM

    I really like this series but I do have one minor complaint.All the anime you recommend already have an article on mecha guignol.I know that Landon is the one that has talked about them and it is interesting to hear your opinion and thoughts on them but I would love to hear about some new anime that hasn’t already been mentioned in this site.

    • September 8, 2015 9:24 AM

      Well, Landon and I have similar tastes but also because this first set of recommendations are ostensibly for a certain category of viewers. I do plan on making some recommendations in future sets that probably never appeared on MG before though. Those adhere more to my tastes, which I warn you, my tastes are less… shall we say, “refined” than Landon’s.

      • preytorsanime permalink
        September 8, 2015 9:33 AM

        That sounds awesome.Can’t wait for your non “refined” recommendations.Not sure what you define as not “refined” but if you mean stuff like Apocalypse Zero and Midori or like Poppee I am down for it.

Got Something To Say?

