Skip to content

Spring 2015 thingy

March 30, 2015
tags: ,

Image after the jump, since it should be a pretty huge image. Also, wootness, I commented on like, all this stuff. So it’s gonna be a long post.

spring2015

Alrighty, let’s talk Spring 2015.

Baby Steps S2: I liked the manga but as it went on, it started annoying the hell out of me. So I never got into the anime. I’m gonna assume that season 2 approaches the parts that annoyed me, so I’ve even less interest in this than in season 1.

Danna ga Nani wo Itteiru ka Wakaranai Ken 2: Caught the first few eps of season 1, it was okay. But it petered out for me because I didn’t get a lot of the references and I was following too many other shows at the time. I did like that they’re a newlywed couple who actually have sex though. But I’d probably give this season a miss, personally.

Denpa Kyoushi: Read the manga. Couldn’t gather enough interest to finish the first chapter. Thus, no interest in the anime.

Digimon Adventure Tri: Alas, I’ve never followed Digimon. Probably won’t jump in here.

Etotama: Probably give this a couple eps. It doesn’t sound particularly appealing but it’s not offensive either. Who knows, could be great?

Fate/stay night Unlimited Blade Works Part 2: AHAHAHAHA! No. I’m not trying to troll the fans of this franchise, but I’ve given this franchise several chances and each time it’s overrated crap. Hey, remember when GAR was a thing? And it referred to that godawful Engrish scene where Archer summoned a bunch of swords and it was supposed to be manly, but really, it was just a stiffly animated scene where he fucking threw the swords like a girl? Yeah.

Ghost in the Shell arise (TV series): Never followed GitS. Doubtful I’d start with this. Not to say it can’t be good. Heck, it might be awesome. But I just don’t feel like jumping in without watching the earlier stuff first.

Gintama
: No interest, but I heard it’s a pretty amusing property? I’m sure long time fans will be happy.

Gunslinger Stratos: The main character aside, the premise sounds kinda cool. Two alternate timelines fighting to see who gets to continue existing? Neato! Having what is presumably a boooooring main character bridging these two worlds is laaaaaaame but who knows, could be a neat show.

Hello! Kiniro Mosaic: Neeeeeeewp! Not for me.

The Heroic Legend of Arslan: I think I actually read bits of the manga. Not great but then again, I read random chapters without context. I’ll give this a shot. The story might be nice.

High School dxD BorN: No thank you.

Houkago no Pleiades: Sounds boring. I’ll make Landon check it out and tell me if I should bother.

Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon?: First of all, fuck my stucky shift key. It makes capitalization such a hassle. I keep having to backtrack. Second of all, read the first chapter of the manga long ago. Again, could hardly make it pass the first chapter. You’d think with a title like this, it’d be awesome but… I might give it a couple eps. After all, sometimes the anime adaptation works better than the original manga.

Kekkai Sensen: Sounds like something Landon might dig but I’d lose interest in real quick. If the pacing’s quick or it’s got plenty of face paces, highly choreographed action, I’d probably stick with it. The premise certainly sounds decent. But who knows? Another show I’d give a few episodes to rope me in.

Knights of Sidonia Battle for Planet Nine: Didn’t follow season 1. I should catch up on that. But until then, I’ll give this season a pass. Bully for those who dig the series though.

Kuusen Madoushi Kouhosei no Kyoukan: Looks sucky.

Kyoukai no Rinne: Well, since this is only gonna be 25 eps, I might give it a try.

Lupin III: More of a Landon thing than an updatedude thang.

The Labyrinth of Grisaia & The Eden of Grisaia: Sounds like something I wouldn’t dig because I’d have no idea what the fuck’s going on, since I’ve never even heard of the source material.

Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha ViVid: So far, this is the only show that I’m definitely going to watch and not only that, I’m gonna finish the entire season. Not because it’ll be awesome. Far from it. Unless it’s a gag comedy or features more Nanoha than the synopsis let’s on, or it goes back to its roots and have a lot of well choreographed magic battles, I fully expect this show to suck turd. I’d watch it because I’m a stupid stupid fanboy who’s an idiot masochist for watching this probable piece of shit. Fuck you anime industry, for making a fucking sequel.

Nagoto Yuki-chan no Shoushitsu: AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHHAAHAHAHA fuuuuuuuuuuck you asshole. Go to fucking shithell moe-Yuki. I’m GLAD that the Haruhi voice actress had an old man fetish and is a slut. Good for her. Enjoy life. Don’t adhere to non-existent norms and unreasonable expectations from the fanboys to retain your chastity. I mean, I think she sexually harassed the one band member who wouldn’t fuck her? Harassment’s not cool babe. But anyways, suck it fanboys. That’s your punishment for making moe-Yuki a thing.

Ninja Slayer From Animation: The only series that I’m kinda optimistic for in this season so far. Wish I pre-ordered the Figma. Oh well.

Nisekoi S2: No interest, personally.

Ore Monogatari!!: Looks barfy. It’ll all depend on the comedic timing methinks. If it has good timing, it’ll probably be a watchable show. Now that I think about it, I haven’t really watched a romantic comedy in quite a long while. I doubt this show will draw me back into the genre, but who knows? I’ll give it a few episodes.

Owari no Seraph: The premise sounds like terrible fanfiction, which is why I feel like it’s gonna suck. I hope I’m proven wrong but I get the feeling it won’t jive with me.

PriPara 2: I don’t follow this franchise. But if you do, then more power to you.

Re-Kan!: Given that it’s a comedy with a simple (albeit common) premise, it might be good. Maybe even anime of the season? Who knows. Worth a try probably.

Robot girls Z+: Other than Ninja Slayer, this is the only other show so far that I actually expect to be good/entertaining. Hell, moreso than Ninja Slayer, honestly.

Shokugeki no Soma: I’ve been following the manga. Honestly, it’s not very good and I doubt the anime format will help it out any. With the manga format, relatively short chapters ending on cliffhangers do sorta pull the reader along. But in an anime format, they’re gonna lose a lot of those. As far as cooking shounen series go, Shokugeki no Soma is terribly mediocre. Hey, if you’ve seen Gundam Build Fighters Try, the main dude in this show is basically Sekai from GBFT. He wins over beautiful French or Italian cuisine because he uses “muh Nipponese soul food” but WAIT, it’s not just regular Japanese food, he used… SOY SAUCE! And this shit is played straight. So yeah, no expectations, nor any interest in watching this anime. Will continue with the manga though.

Show by Rock!!: Not enough info from the synopsis to draw a conclusion. Will give it a try.

Sound! Euphonium: Barf out of boredom.

Takamiya Nasuno Desu!: I’m a heretic who never got into Teekyuu. So I’m skipping this, but reckon Landon’s looking forward to it.

Teekyuu S4: See above.

Traige X: Might be appealing in a Black Lagoon try hard sorta way. Gonna give it a try.

Urawa no Usagi-chan: Will give this a try. Hopefully it’s in an 11 minute format though.

Uta no Prince-sama Maji Love Revolutions: Looks too hetero for my tastes.

Vampire Holmes: The absurdity of the title intrigues me.

Yahari, Ore no Seishun Love Comedy wa Machigatteiru. Zoku: No interest. Sounds annoying, honestly.

Yamada-kun to 7-nin no Majo: Body swapping after the cliché “falling into a kiss after tripping on stairs” aside, the whole witches thing intrigue me. Another show I’d give a shot to.

So, only 2 shows I’ll likely finish this season. The new Nanoha and the new Robot Girls. Hopefully Ninja Slayer and a couple others will meet or exceed my expectations. Overall, this looks to be a particularly horrid season. It’s got the usual meh but also a lot of meh sequels. Unfortunately, it also seems to have a number of definite stinkers. Landon might enjoy this season more than me, as there’s a number of shows he should dig. I guess I’ll spend this season catching up on Steven Universe.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2015 1:07 AM

    Keeps getting worse by the season. Well, maybe something will surprise me.

  2. April 3, 2015 1:17 AM

    Well, now that I think about it, that GitS thing and Lupin III I might like. But I want to watch some other stuff from their respective franchises before watching them. I’ve only seen the two GitS movies and nothing from Lupin III. Not really a requirement in either case, but it’s just something I want to do.

    If Kill la Kill is anything to go by, Ninja Slayer will turn out to be something I enjoy but not really love. Unless it’s like Inferno Cop, which it might be given the premise.

  3. April 3, 2015 2:34 AM

    Yeah, although there’s a couple that might be good. Robot Girls Z+ has a high probability.

Got Something To Say?

