Skip to content

Binan Koukou Chikyuu Bouei-bu Love! #1

January 7, 2015

jam

Yeah, this is my jam.

Okay, so Landon’s fetish is animals that want to destroy humanity and cannibalism, delivered in contemporary 70s exploitation style. Me, I’m into tokusatsu and violent magical girls delivered in a self-aware deconstructive style.

Binan Koukou Chikyuu Bouei-bu Love! is right up my alley. It’s pretty much Pretty Cure, but with boys instead of girls. And unlike other magical boy series, it embraces its Pretty Cure-ness. Right down to the modern (lame) versions of Pretty Cure where they “cure” the monsters rather than simply beating the living shit outta them.

The problem with Pretty Cure is that each season has 50 odd episodes, ostensibly targeting young children. Presumably, Binan Koukou Chikyuu Bouei-bu Love! will be far shorter so they can maintain their self-awareness. I’m also fine with the Seinfeldian humor here. They’ve integrated it well with the monster-of-the-week.

This show might become a personal favorite of mine, since it appeals precisely to my tastes. Not sure about others, but the first ep’s probably worth a watch. Also, in the tradition of magical girl shows trying to get audiences outside their demographics, they’ve included an evil hedgehog. This is obviously an appeal directly to Landon, since he’s a hedgehog hater.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Landon permalink
    January 7, 2015 10:10 AM

    It has evil magical pets. That pink space wombat totally offed that old teacher dude. I’m down with this.

    • January 7, 2015 11:38 AM

      Yeah, he totally did.

      Also, I think this is kinda like Samumenco for me. I dig it more than I should because I happen to dig Pretty Cure and this first episode is pretty much nearly exactly the same as a typical Pretty Cure pilot. It’s literally NOTHING but a gender swap.

  2. Landon permalink
    January 7, 2015 6:55 PM

    Also: I totally hope it’s the same bland dude who freaks out and gets turned into a kaijin every episode.

  3. January 8, 2015 11:30 AM

    Thanks for brining this to my attention. I probably wouldn’t have watched it if you hadn’t posted this. I saw the show’s MAL image and thought it would be a bunch of bland, repetitive gay jokes.

Got Something To Say?

