Skip to content

Gundam Reconguista in G #2 (live-ish)

October 4, 2014

GRECO2Is this sacrifice or masochism? I’m watching another ep of Gundam G no Reconguista, aka G-Reco. Does this mean we’re gonna get a lot of Greco Roman Wrestling in space as opposed to mecha dog fights in space?

While I don’t know if there’s gonna be any timestamps in this live-ish view, what I CAN say is that the production of this post/review is gonna be higher. I’mma gonna do something experimental which I might do for future posts if it works out.

So without further ado, let us proceed to my suffering for your amusement (seriously, the only reason I finished the first ep was because I wanted to do a post for youse peeples).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAlrighty then, starting with the opening. Yeah, music’s pretty catchy. Not that I have any idea what they’re singing about. But looks like we’ll have transforming Gundam, so err, that’s good.

Some high ranking guy is recapping the pilot and his minion is going Hai! Hah! Huh! Hoh! And the high ranking guy’s all “good work”.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe episode opens with the dude who is sooo gonna be this series’ Char-clone saying that the pirate Gundam is in Hangar 25, but then the main dude, in a surprised voice, states that’s where the Academic Research Library is. Okay, random thoughts… 1) Why is your research section in a hangar? and 2) Why would the main guy be surprised… considering he’s the one to drop the knowledge. Like, that would be like me being surprised while telling you that I keep my car in my garage.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAGeez, Future-Char’s just a regular ol’ Mr. Exposition ain’t he?

You know, technically I’m (the green robot on the right) supposed to be the one talking about the good parts of the show, but at this rate, we’re just gonna nitpick over every little thing.

Back to the episode. Apparently, there’s a minority race called Kuntala that people pick on. Future-Char’s apparently one, as was the presumably head cheerleader who got kicked in the pilot. So… they’re kinda space-Jews? Like, they can hold high positions but people have archaic and racist views on them?

That space bishop is pretty awesome. He rides around on a walker mech and looks at people with opera binoculars, eventhough they’re standing right in front of him. I genuinely dig that. I wish I had the same privileges as space bishops.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAgain, I like the new mechs. But they just showed us 2 different mechs and the main dude’s like “Are those the new Caitsith mechs?”. Erm, which mech are you talking about dude?

More random notes, 1) The Director just dumps the Colonel to run off looking for the Space Bishop. You’d think she’d have more poise. 2) We see the Space Bishop bidding a buncha guys to sit. But he’s just a visitor isn’t he? He might even be the guest of honor. So why’s he acting like a host?

I know, I know. I’m nitpicking here. But it’s all in good fun… for now. I don’t necessarily dislike the show… yet.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThat’s a pretty amusing space cabaret. Cobralalalalalala Hi!.

Okay, I’m gonna cut back on the nitpicking. Otherwise, I’m gonna end up watching this for 2 hours.
.
.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Man, unless I nitpick, this show is gonna leave me speechless. Like, I can talk about moment to moment, but there’s no consecutive sequence of dialogue or events that make sense in narrative continuity.

In literally 1 minute (because I timed it. It’s timestamped 6:21 to 7:21), we have the space bishop telling his people to be courteous to the guests, then taking a phonecall that’s full of static, which he declares must be the work of pirates, and another guy arbitrarily saying there’s Minovsky Particles being spread around, to the cheerleaders and the Indian girl moving around on a robo-walker for no discernable reason, with the Indian girl going Geee! Geee! Meanwhile, the cheerleader somehow heard about a plot to take back the Gundam before the static hit. Then the girls hear a distant whistle, which they apparently instinctively know means there’s incoming artillery. Once the artilery hits with fireworks-like explosions, all the guests instantly react by running out in chaos, and someone’s blaming the Americans… okay, it might have been the Armerians, but it’s funnier to think that America’s survived thousands of years into the future and is now composed of nothing but terrorists and incompetent pirates. Also, the dude who mentioned about the Minovsky Particles earlier, also states that the army isn’t ready. Eventhough we know there’s at least 2 mobile suits already prepped that were on guard duty.

All this in literally a 1 minute timespan, the moment I said I’d stop nitpicking, I get 1 minute of Michael Bayisms. I’m left wondering what I’m gonna be bombarded with once I unpause the episode. Welp, into the fray once more!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERALiterally. LITERALLY not figuratively. I unpause and we cut to the military mechs taking off to fight the invaders. This is LITERALLY immediately after the dude said the military’s not ready.
.
.
.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOh don’t be such a Negative Nancy. Hey, we’re getting a pretty nice mook mech match up!
.
.
.
.

dumbestcarever

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWhich is immediately followed up with the dumbest car ever! You close the door from the front? No wonder you need an outsider to slam the door for ya. And it’s apparently some abominable love child between a stretch limo and a roller coaster cart.

Future-Char is aghast that the military’s gonna try fighting the invaders on the ground. When the military mechs have clearly been seen taking off to confront the invaders in the sky. In fact, the very next shot is of a military mech going airborne to fight.

Said mech then gets kicked into a lake, which causes a splash that coincidentally knocks the Indian girl off the walker. Thereby demonstrating a crucial flaw in the walker design. A lack of safety belts.

…ohgod…

The main dude asks Future-Char if they should go to the “Prisoner’s Tower” or “Hanger 25”. And Future-Char’s reply is “Of course!”. Maybe there’s something lost in the translation, but even without extensive knowledge of the language, even I could make out that the main dude does indeed state 2 possible locations and Future-Char’s response was indeed an affirmative that doesn’t correlate to either. Also, the Indian girl has a really stupid running gait.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI was this close to dropping the show, but the last 1 minute has not defied the laws of causality and effect.
.
.
.
.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnd immediately as I think that, Future-Char materializes a phone out of thin air. He even repeats a message that takes him 3 seconds to speak out while having only held the phone to his ear for under 1 second. And yes, I timed all this. I am talking LITERALLY.
.
.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASorry folks, at 9:27, Gundam Reconguista in G #2 has defeated me. Conclusion, if you’re gonna watch this episode, then don’t do it like I just did. Watch it in one go rather than “live”. Watch this the same way you’d watch a Michael Bay Transformers. Turn off your brain and ignore cohesive… erm, cohesive anything really. Narrative, logic, dialogue, whatevs.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOn the plus side, what little mecha fights I’ve seen has been pretty good.
.
.
.
.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOn the minus side, they made personal walker mechs lame. So your “plus side” is invalid.

No comments yet

Got Something To Say?

