Skip to content

Fall Anime 2014 Round Up Pt2

September 18, 2014

Alrighty, we’ve done the first two rows here. Now for some more round uppiness. I’m writing this while having just woken up, lesse if I can be coherent.

3rd Row
Girlfriend (Kari)
An adaptation of a smartphone game. Seeing as it’s based on such a game, there’s a sliver of chance that the creators will just go totally wild with the story, thus giving us a super entertaining show full of laughs and insane plots… naaaaaaaaaah! It’ll probably be some lame, boring harem show with girls being inane.

Magic Kaito
Apparently this is a spin off from Detective Conan. I know the comic’s been out for a long long time though, so it’s kinda surprising that it’s taken this long to get an adaptation. Of course, having read the first few chapters of said comic/manga, I can say baaaaaaarf! It’s neither particularly fun or inventive from what I read, so I’m giving the anime a miss as well. Maybe it got better in the later issues, but I’m not sure i’d want to stick with a potentially long running series just to wait for it to maybe get better.

World Trigger
I’ve actually been reading World Trigger. I found the manga a few months ago and I think I hit the 30-ish chapter mark before catching up with the translators.

As far as this type of shounen series goes, it’s not great but at the same time, it’s slightly different because of the secondary main guy. However, from where I stopped, it was heading toward generic shounen crap, much like the Soul Society arc in Bleach, which is why I haven’t bothered to keep up with new releases.

I heard that World Trigger started with weak sales but later got stronger, thus prompting this anime? Which, correlating it with my views on the manga, means that it’ll probably start off meh but eh, and then devolve into crap. I’d give it a miss.

Psycho-Pass 2
Psst, I have a confession. I never finished the first Psycho-Pass. I loved the first half with all the freaky murders, but then I ended up moving house. I kept expecting to settle down in a certain place, and I figured I’d watch through the whole thing once I did, but I ended up settling down somewhere else and lost track. I did skim the eps I missed though, but I just coincidentally landed on the words “Hyper Oats”, which, err, yeah. I’ll catch up one of these days. I’ve been getting the extended versions that’ve been coming out.

Anyways, Psycho-Pass 2, yeah, that’s a series I’ll personally get but won’t watch right away. Not until I catch up on season 1. But I’d still recommend y’all watch it anyways, especially if you’ve finished season 1 already.

4th Row
Shigatsu Kimi wa no Uso
So it’s about this pianist who lost the light of his life until he meets this violiFUCK THIS SHIT!

This sounds absolutely fucking terrible. We’ve had shows like this before. Not the exact premise of course. They were fucking terrible too. If you happen to like these kind of shows, then more power to ya. They can be pretty compelling and heart tugging.

But me? I’ve always hated this kinda faux “feels” dramangst shows, simply because they couldn’t make me suspend my disbelief. Also, noooot helped by the main dude being only 14. If he was in his 40s to 60s, the premise sounds like Oscar-bait. At 14? He just sounds like a lil’ bitch.

Ai Tenchi Muyo!
So apparently this is based on a manga now? Y’know… from the looks of the cover, I gotta say, I kinda dig the redesigns. Tenchi himself is a pile of suck. I’m not a huge fan of the modern main anime dude design. Y’know, the dude with skinny glasses. As far as Tenchi’s concerned, I would have liked if he was more like the older generic old design, which is a regularly filled out dude with no glasses.

Ryoko’s interesting, save her boobs are not big enough for that look. If she had more notable boobs, I can understand the whole skanky unbuttoned shirt look, but nonetheless, tiger/Lum-print bra to denote her oni-ness? Obvious, but nice anyways. And it seems Ayeka will be the school’s “princess”. Which again, with the idea of it being a reboot, sounds good to me.

I’ll give Ai Tenshi Muyo a try. I’ve no idea what direction it’ll go. Hopefully it’ll have some action along with any romance, and won’t be like that Haruhi spinoff where the Rei-clone is all pandering to creepy otaku pedophiles.

Ore, Twintail ni Narimasu
Dude with twintail fetish *yawn* meets girl with twintails that appeared outta nowhere *barf* but then monsters appear *blech* and they declare they own all the twintails in the world! *ooooh*.

So yeah, this anime’s premise lost me until the very last line. I’ll give it a shot. I’m expecting the main characters to be meh, but hoping the baddies will save the show.

Donten ni Warau
So, back in the Meiji Era, they banned swords. Those who still insist on carrying swords are carted off to a lake prison by these 3 brothers. And there’s apparently a giant dragon monster maybe?

Insufficient data to form a baseless preconceive opinion. If I ain’t trying anything else, might give it a try, but sounds like this’ll slip through the cracks for me.

So, rounding up:
Girlfriend (Kari): Bleh
Magic Kaito: Bleh
World Trigger: Meh
Psycho-Pass 2: Yes
Shigatsu Kimi wa no Uso: Barf
Ai Tenchi Muyo!: Erm, sure, yes
Ore, Twintail ni Narimasu: Ye…s? Maybe?
Donten ni Warau: *shrugs*

Fall 2014 Anime Chart v2

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2014 12:14 PM

    I saw the PV with all the crying for Shigatsu Kimi wa no Uso, read a few chapters of the manga to get the context, then decided I was never touching the show.

    • September 19, 2014 7:03 PM

      Thanks for commenting. Anyways, I’ve seen this kind of show before. I can’t remember which ones off my head. So yeah, not a fan of this type of show. I’m sure it works for some people, but not me.

  2. October 10, 2014 6:51 AM

    Shigatsu wa kimi no uso is anime of the year. period

    • October 10, 2014 8:26 AM

      I think I have the episode. I’ll have to watch it before I can agree or disagree.

      • October 10, 2014 8:58 AM

        Okay I reread your post again. If it’s not your cup of tea then it’s all cool man.

        • October 10, 2014 9:24 AM

          Cool. Live and let live. I’m not even sure which anime we’re talking about. I’m just pretty sure it’s on my torrent list, so I’ll likely give it a fair shake. Glad you’re digging it though.

          • October 10, 2014 9:28 AM

            Oh, is it the violin one?

            From what I can tell from the summary/sypnosis, if you dig that, you might dig Honey and Clover as well. Give it a try. I used to dig this kinda manga/anime. My tastes have simply changed over time.

Got Something To Say?

