Skip to content

Fall Anime 2014 Round Up

September 16, 2014

Alrighty then, let’s talk about the upcoming Fall 2014.

I’mma following based on the chart below. We’ll start with the first row.

Terra Formars
I’ve actually read the manga not too long ago. Assuming this opens up with the Bugs 2 expedition, which is the first story set after the prologue (which was covered in an OVA), I think Landon might like it, if only for the trashiness of it. It goes downhill after that first story arc though. By god does it go fucking downhill… I’ll have Landon watch that first arc/cour/whatever, but I’ll probably skip this series myself. I might watch the first ep just to see how the art looks though.

Aikatsu! 3rd Season
I’ll watch this once I watch the first 2 seasons. So, probably never.

Amagi Brilliant Park
Based on the summary, it almost sounds like it has potential. Depending on how they play the show up. Like, if it was in a “4-koma” style or something like Working.

But looking at the cover art… no, looks like it’ll suck quite a bit. And a closer look shows this is based on a novel, which doubly increases the chance and amount of suckage. Total miss. Well, unless Landon makes the sacrifice to give it a shot and gives it a good report. Then I MIGHT, but otherwise, no.

Log Horizon Second Series
I really wouldn’t recommend the first season of Log Horizon. By the end of that first season, it got terrible even for me. BUT, despite that, I actually enjoyed most of it, although probably not for the same reaons most others enjoyed it for. So on that note, yeah, I’ll probably watch this second season, but once again, I probably wouldn’t recommend it.

Second row.
Fate/stay night Unlimited Blade Works
Barf.

Nanatsu no Taizai
Tried reading the manga long ago, couldn’t get through that first chapter for some reason. So not gonna bother with the anime either.

Kaitou Joker
Looks like a kiddy show. I’ll probably give it a miss. The character designs look cute, but surprisingly, I’m not actually a kiddy show kinda guy.

Gundam Build Fighters Try
I’m… look… ing… forward to… this? Ow.

Yeah, I’m normally not a Gundam fan. I’ve found over the years that Gundam and it’s fans take the series waaaay too seriously. However, I gave the first Gundam Build Fighters a try and I… kinda… loved it? Because it doesn’t take itself seriously, and in fact, one of the themes in Gundam Build Fighters is to customize your Gundams and to make up your own story and to have FUN. Which is something that the franchise and its fans have previously DISCOURAGED.

So, I’m looking forward to GBF Try, although from the summary, it looks like this series is set nearly a decade after the previous one. I guess that works, in that Gundam series do have a tendency to timeskip. But I’ll admit that I was kinda hoping for the original cast. Since that series set up some possible grudge matches. That said, if we’re going with a new cast, then I hope we won’t get ANY characters recurring from the first series. I can see Rao (that his name?), the fat veteran guy returning in a mentor role, but I hope we WON’T even get that American Neils Nielson (that his name?) returning.

Welp, stopping here for now.

Fall 2014 Anime Chart v2

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2014 2:20 PM

    Nanatsu no Taizai gets REALLY REALLY GOOD. Hoping the anime adaptation doesn’t fuck it up.

    • September 17, 2014 7:49 PM

      I should give the manga a second chance then. Like I said, I just happened to never finish that chapter, not necessarily because it was bad, though probably not a super duper first chapter. Might still give the anime a miss due to probable length though.

  2. September 18, 2014 10:03 AM

    So Terraformers is a manga that suffers “LN syndrome”? Yeah…

    I kinda want to give that other Gundam show a shot because it looks like it embraces the Sunrise camp quite a bit. But once it goes into the serious portions that I never cared for, I’ll probably bail.

    Amagi is sort of in the same boat as Gundam and Terraformers as well. There’s stuff I like from the pre-hype, but I’ve got no idea if it’ll carry me through the entire thing. Inou-Battle too, although there isn’t really much grabbing me besides the chuuni superhero thing in the premise to begin with.

    • September 18, 2014 7:50 PM

      LN Syndrome? Not familiar with the term.

      I’ll get to my views on Gundam eventually, hopefully. I’m down for GBF Try, as for the other one… well, at least the new main Gundam’s got a snail-head.

  3. September 18, 2014 7:12 PM

    It’s been a while since I read the first 20-ish chapters of Terra Formars. I do remember enjoying the first arc though. I think the second arc was like the Stardust Crusaders of the series. Like how I enjoyed the first season of Jojo, Stardust Crusaders was more of the same but in a more extended, worn out and gimmicky sort of way. I’ve seen about half the episodes and a few of them were good, but overall it was just kind of “meh, not as great as the first one (or two).” And Terra Formars wasn’t that great to begin with, it was just mildly entertaining. So I imagine the anime adaptation won’t do anything to change any of that.

    World Trigger interested me until I found out it was an adaptation of a shounen manga. Those don’t do much for me anymore. I’d only check it out if I heard good things about it.

    I will check out Cross Ange and I will be disappointed. It’s pretty much another Sunrise mecha in the vein of Gundam.

    I’ve heard good things about Mushishi, but I haven’t seen any of it so I can’t really watch it this season.

    I haven’t seen the other GitS: Arise films, so this one will have to wait. Expelled from Paradise seems interesting.

    The only anime from this season I have a high chance of liking is Psycho-Pass 2 and, maybe, Kiseijuu.

    • September 18, 2014 7:52 PM

      “Worn out” is a good word for Terra Formars. World Trigger starts off a lil different than other shounen, but apparently it didn’t get popular till it went from tepid to suck.

Trackbacks

  1. Fall Anime 2014 Round Up Pt2 » Mecha Guignol

Got Something To Say?

