Skip to content

Iron Man 3 & Space Pirate Captain Harlock

August 13, 2014

seigheilWowzers, I’ve watched two movies over these last two days. That’s a record of sorts. Both surprised me by being both within and outside my expectations.

So, were they good surprises or bad?

Doi, they were good of course.

Let’s start with Iron Man 3 aka Don’t Talk About the Avengers.

Following the standard formula of non-Spidey Marvel movies, the first fiddy/fiddyfi minutes of Iron Man is immensely boring. It’s also not helped by the incredible stupidity of the Mandarin scenes. And if you’re even a casual fan of Marvel comics, the AIM thing’s probably super obvious.

Once it hits THAT scene though though, it proceeds to devolve into the best Marvel movie yet. You know… THAT scene. If you’ve seen the movie, you can probably guess which scene I’m talking about. If you haven’t, here’s a spoiler, it involves Ben Kingsley’s Mandarin stealing the entire fucking movie.

Once THAT scene happens, and to be fair, it probably started happening when he started shopping at the Walmart/Ikea/hardware store, but once THAT scene happens, the movie instantly stops taking itself so fucking seriously and just decides to be fun and then some (funsome?). Robert Downey Jr. suddenly becomes an 80s action star by unconscionably murdering baddies while still rescuing innocents (#amiritemanofsteel?). The plot decides to just go “Fuckit, I have a guy name Kill ‘n All Rich, I’m not fooling anyone! If I’m going down, I’mma going down in a blaze o’ glory!”.

Stuff happens. The movie becomes super campy. And we get the best Nu-Marvel movie that I’ve seen so far. This movie makes me wanna watch Guardians of the Galaxy, because despite being a fan of the GotG comics, I had absolutely no interest in Marvel movies, ’cause they kinda went downhill after Iron Man 1. While I enjoyed them, they were hardly mindblowing. And Avengers becomes progressively more boring with each rewatch.

Aaaaanyways, yeah, Iron Man 3. It’s surprisingly good, considering the let down that was Iron Man 2. It follows the Avengers formula of starting out dull, which is why it took me half a day to watch that first hour as I took frequent breaks while watching it, but once it stopped taking itself seriously, I was hooked.

Okaio, let’s take a breather now.

Breath in.

Breath out.

Breath in.

Breath out.

So, now we go Space Pirate Captain Harlock. I coulda gotten this long ago, but I took my time and eventually forgot about it. But anyways, I just grabbed it and I watched it subbed.

It’s a really pretty show. It makes me regret not picking up the Play Arts Kai version of Captain Harlock.

As expected of a cgi space opera, the story’s kinda slow, and it only serves to remind us that this shoulda been Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within. But unlike that bore-fest, Harlock and his universe looks goooooood.

You know what I’d like? I’d like a Spaconquistadore 3-Pack at a reasonable price. The Spaconquistadores are what I refer to armor worn by Harlock’s men. I’d also like an Ezra & Guards set.

The designs in this show are so pretty, it deserves a Star Wars-esque merch line. In fact, some parts also feel like an unintentional “fuck you” to Clone Wars and the Prequels.

Plot-wise, it has some interesting bits, though it all boils down to a single grummy flower. This is hardly a spoiler, because these kinda shows tend to always boil down to that. Spoiler for Kamen Rider: Showa vs Heisei, that movie also boils down to a single random flower.

Hmm, what else? Well, I’ve been watching a buncha documentaries on quantum physics lately, so the way the ships “skip” by apparently using Entanglement and how Harlock’s ship, the Arcadia uses “warp” via dark matter, amused me. I also found the fact that the main character, a guy named Yama, which means mountain(?) in Japanese, got beat by a fat bald guy in scaling a cliff, to also be amusing. Finally, the whole Harlock/Yama thing… yeah, saw it coming, but it didn’t go quite the way I thought it’d go, so I’m kinda glad that I got surprised.

Space Pirate Captain Harlock’s a bit of a plodding beast, but it plods at a consistent rate, and it keeps your attention by being super pretty. It’s probably worth at least one watch.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Miraclezify permalink
    August 16, 2014 10:09 PM

    Would you say it’s all good to watch the Harlock movie without any prior knowledge of the franchise?

    • August 17, 2014 5:13 AM

      Sure thing. I have no idea who Harlock is myself. I watched the dubbed cartoon as a kid but thought it was super boring, so I went into this movie blind.

Got Something To Say?

