Skip to content

Hearthstone 20140806

August 6, 2014

noveltyI need to watch Sabagebu! #5 and recap/discuss Kamen Rider Gaim #39. In the meanwhile, here’s another post on a children’s card game on an anime blog.

Truth be told, Hearthstone’s my first children’s card game. I heard about Magic: The Gathering when I was a kid, but I had no access to it then. I did happen to catch one game, where the other kids asked me to help decipher the rules of a particular card, but since no one had any idea how the hell you’re supposed to play the game, I probably deciphered it wrong. In retrospect, I was probably just deciphering the flavor text.

Later on, I managed to get M:tG on the Playstation, but if I recall, there was no tutorial in those, so again, I had no idea what the fuck was happening. But I’m a NEEEEEERD, I’m naturally attracted to stuff like children’s card games, so my interest was renewed when Landon and ThreeDark used to talk about the game and worked on this homebrew thingy.

Generally speaking, all my encounters with children’s card games have been unfruitful. Checking online’s useless because of all the jargon and people refusing to explain it in a fucking simple manner. And naturally, popular media doesn’t help. They usually mock how complicated games like M:tG are or in the case of stuff like Yugioh, it’s all pretty much magical bullshit.

But then I saw a match between Grant Imahara (from Mythbusters) and some dude, on a YouTube show called Spellslingers, and… finally, after all these years, I understand the basic rules. And now that I’ve played Hearthstone for several months, I finally “get” it.

Children’s card games follow simple rules. Variations in the value of the cards, additional rules for some cards and random factors such as your deck being shuffled or dice rolls, result in no two games being exactly the same. But it all boils down to following those simple rules that no one will fucking explain to you.

So, what does all this have to do with Hearthstone specifically? Not much, I just needed padding before jumping into the real meat of this post, which is that I play “Aggro” in Hearthstone. From what I understand, “Aggro” is similar to “Zerging”, which is to field lots of cheap units and attack, Attack, ATTACK!

The first class I felt “right” using was the Priest, whose specialty is surviving long enough to set up combos. Then I gravitated toward the Mage, who’s got a wide range of highly damaging spells. In either case, both classes suit my natural personality of taking my time to set up impressive combinations.

But as I played this game more and more, I found what suited me best. The “Zoolock”, a Warlock who uses a wide variety units, which he’s able to access faster via his ability to draw an extra card per turn in exchange for his health. Though lately, I’ve been using a “Beast Hunter” as my main.

Both the latter classes suit me best, because I fill both decks with low cost units, allowing me to field more units faster, resulting in an aggressive play style. The “Aggro” I was talking about.

But here’s the point of this entire post: The reason I play “Aggro” isn’t because I’m an aggressive guy… it’s because half the people I play with take fucking forever to play their turns!

You know the kind… I’m fine with the kind who play slow to psych you out, or they need time to consider their options or hell, sometimes irl is just distracting and you gotta take off for a min or two between plays. I’m fine with all that. But y’know, some players are just plain slow.

So I play Aggro in Hearthstone, and I do it so my games are short. And that’s all I really wanna say.

No comments yet

Got Something To Say?

