Skip to content

Hearthstone 20140721 (Isn’t it ironic, doncha’ think?)

July 21, 2014

So in this post, I said “at least I haven’t been facing decks filled with Legendaries” (I’m paraphrasing myself here). Well, in the comments section, I noted how ironic it was that right after publishing said post, I faced precisely that. A Priest who started out seemingly normal. He had Basics with some Commons and Rares slipped in. Nothing out of the ordinary. But around midgame, he started pulling out Epic after Epic and then Legendaries. One of which was Illidan Stormrage (a big name in the Warcraft-verse) and one or two other powerful cards; I can’t remember who they were. Luckily, I had a good card to deal with Illidan and overcame the other cards in a normal fashion. But then, boom, I exhausted all my cards while the other guy still had, what, half his deck? He pulled out Deathwing, which destroys all minions on the board, and I had to give up. I had zero cards left. Tis a shame too, since he only had 3 HP left. Considering his apparent level of play, I’m gonna guess he’s someone who paid real dosh. I mean, if I could put him on the ropes, then he ain’t all that.

Well, if that was ironic, then what happened next was coincidental, ’cause right after I posted that comment, I encountered the same scenario. Only this time, I was in a better mindset to deal with it.

The match started as normal. And when I say “normal”, I mean that we’re both just using Basics and Commons for the most part. Like my previous opponent, this Mage threw out some Rares early on, but I was able to counter. But as we approach the late game, she started throwing out a buncha Legendaries as well. One was Ragnaros the Firelord and another was some wizard who gave the Mage a Fireball with every spell cast. But this time, I was mentally ready, and managed to take them out early before they could do much damage. Lucky for me, I drew nothing but spells early on while presumably, the Mage drew nothing but Legendaries. So there were quite a few turns where she only did minor damage to me (she had some Minion with 2/3 on board).

Aaaaanyways, I finally got some minions, but saved them up. I knew she had no more Polymorphs. There was a close call where she set me up for a Flamestrike, but I knew she had one on hand, so I took precautions. Finally, with both our decks nearly exhausted, I finally got the cards neccessary to win. And win I did:

combo2

I finally got the 2 Divine Spirits and 1 Inner Fire I needed. I also had an Oasis Snapjaw and a Mogu’shan Warden on hand. I played both together because I figured if she killed one, I’d still have the other. She tried to get their HP down to 4 each so she could finish them off with a Flamestrike, but I was ready for that ’cause I kept track of her Flamestrike usage. I healed ’em up, but she managed to kill the Oasis Snapjaw anyway. But it didn’t matter. I was ready.

Game. Set. Match.

Disclaimer: I don’t actually mind people having better cards than me. It simply means they’ve either spent real money or they’ve spent waaaay more time on the game than I have, OR they’re simply that much better in the Arena. As time progresses and I improve my game, I’ll be one of those selfsame “guys who wins unfairly due to having better cards” myself.

No comments yet

Got Something To Say?

