Skip to content

Sabagebu (Survival Game Club)

June 30, 2014

sabagebureziedSo I saw the pre-air pilot ep for Sabagebu, aka Survival Game Club. I like it, so I’m gonna make a short post about it and I’m not gonna wait for Landon to watch first because screw Landon and his Slowpoke-ness -_-

It’s basically Stella Jogakuin Koutou-ka C3-bu but with more gusto. And again, I like it. It’s pretty obviously from a 4-koma or shorts or whatevs. So the pacing’s faster than in Stella. In retrospect, this first episode of Sabagebu pretty much sums up nearly the first half of Stella.

tl;dr, This will probably be the best show of the third quarter, because we here at Mecha Guignol do love to make such pronouncements after only one episode and not having seen anything else. Either way, I’ll be following it and I think Landon probably will too. Once he gets off his lazy ass to watch this dang Nipponese Cartoon.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2014 4:38 AM

    It may be due to me not being a native speaker, but what do you exactly mean by “more gusto”? I really, really liked C3-bu (except for the last episode, which should have been an additional one, OVA or some shit), and am very much interested in this one. The manga, at least the first chapter, is actually not a yonkoma, and I really liked that the main character is not a cute and innocent girl, but is much more cynical than Yura from Stella. So of course I’m gonna try this one when it airs properly, but am interested in all kinds of opinions :)

  2. July 1, 2014 4:47 AM

    No offense meant, I’m just going to assume you’re not familiar with the term “more gusto”? More gusto just means “with more enthusiasm/energy”. Like, “I love mash potatoes, so I always eat it with gusto”.

    So when I say Sabagebu has more gusto than Stella, I just mean that they both talk about the same topic, but Sabagebu does so with more enthusiasm. Stella has a slower pace and bigger build up, while Sabagebu jumps right in.

    Both ways of storytelling are valid. Sabagebu is obviously much more comedic.

    If you like Stella, you might like Sabagebu as well. Don’t expect drama or logic though.

Got Something To Say?

