Skip to content

Akuma no Riddle Finale

June 21, 2014

riddlerLandon shouldn’t read this until he watches the last ep first. No, seriously, don’t. Spoilers.

I’ll be honest, I’m not as big a fan of Akuma no Riddle as Landon. I figured the setting was something he might like, which was why I pushed him to catch up and also why I didn’t make posts about the show.

But goddamn, the first half of the finale is legitimately awesome.

I kinda called it in that Nio’s a cultist black witch type person, although I was hoping for tentacles.

Early on, I realized and dearly HOPED, that that’s probably Nio as Tokaku, and much to my relief, I was right. And then stuff happened (Tokaku murders Haru). And all was right in the world.

But then, the second half happened. Okay, here’s the thing, I dunno how Landon would take that second half. It’s something of a Mai Hime cop out. I’m okay with it, BUT…

You see, early in the series, I predicted that everyone would survive. There’s a lot of ambiguous stuff happening. But the Romeo & Juliet thing made me think/realize that, yeah, not everyone’s gonna make it.

Here’s the thing, I can buy Haru having titanium ribs. And if we take the ending at face value, it means Nio survived, which I’m all for. But just to confirm, I went back to the Romeo & Juliet thing to confirm where the loli-looking one was stabbed, and she was stabbed in the fucking heart:

romeojuliet

Duuuuuuuude, she dead dude. I mean, the knife didn’t just stab through her heart, it practically ran her through. Unless she’s secretly a member of G.I. Joe (Duke DID survive a poisoned cobra through the heart…), she’s not getting up from that.

At first I thought the graduation was Tokaku dressing up as Haru, but the show says no.

So here’s the thing, what if… the Haru we saw at the graduation ceremony, WAS Tokaku dressing up as her. Which explains why she couldn’t claim her own certificate herself. And the Tokaku we see at the end is a halucination of herself?

So now she’s dressing up and pretending to be her lover, and she’s interacting with a halucination of herself, who is all cold toward her…self. That would also explain the somewhat out of character-ish bits at the end, like the Highlander chick giving up her obsession.

On the OTHER hand, if everything in the ending’s true, it means killer nuns. Which again, not a bad thing.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2014 12:47 PM

    Haru had everyone avoiding vital spots without anyone noticing. Tokaku made things hard for her at the end but she still found a way to pull a fast one over her yandere lover.

  2. Landon permalink*
    June 21, 2014 11:31 PM

    I’ll write something later, but the short of it:

    BARF

  3. June 22, 2014 2:16 AM

    I could take some of the other girls surviving, but the Romeo and Juliet couple was a big “Hell no!” from me.

  4. shytende permalink
    June 22, 2014 2:45 AM

    I was also worried about the killer nun continuuing to kill, even if her all character was based on the fact she didn’t like it and was bad at it.

    And I wanted to have more scenes about Kaiba.

    About the Romeo and Juliet… Well, only explication is that she’s a zombie (possibly all along. Don’t tell me she never tried her own medecine on herself.).

    Kinda disappointing, but given all the rest, this isn’t that much of a problem.

    • June 22, 2014 3:33 AM

      There’s a lot about the ending that seems out of character if we nitpick.

      For example, nun girl is now a competent sharpshooting killer?

      Why would Banba be happy now? Since the last thing we saw of her was that she was having a traumatic flashback and is then knocked out.

      Cyborg girl’s change in interests seems to be out of nowhere. Even if she gave up on being Queen Bee…

      Romeo & Juliet and director-wannabe-now-hacker-girl of course.

      Serial killer girl is interesting. For having been caught for serial killing and then breaking out of prison, she’s apparently sent to a regular mid-security prison. Then again, the Akuma no Riddle world is one where the show opened up with Assassin Summer Camp, so maybe they have a lax view of murder there. Considering all their secret god queens are used to this kinda stuff.

      If the gave Haru and Tokaku a happy ending, and happy endings for SOME of the assassins, that’d be one thing. But ALL of them? Even the one who was stabbed through the fucking heart? That’s the one that can’t really be explained away. Unles they’ve developed artificial heart tech.

  5. Miraclezify permalink
    June 22, 2014 5:51 AM

    I absolutely hated this ending as well. If the show at that part with Tokaku crying next to the road, I think that’s a perfect ending. Something I’m sure Landon would love.

    I was thinking though, what if all that ending was just Tokaku’s wish? She did after all say something like “my wish can’t be granted any more”, and it seems totally feasible that given the fact that half those endings were just totally out of character or outright impossible. There’s an special coming out later this year, hopefully that might clarify this.

Got Something To Say?

