Skip to content

Completely Baseless and Completely Accurate Assumptions About the Fall 2013 Season – Part 1

October 4, 2013
by

killlakillFall 2013 is already better than Spring and Summer. Not sure if it’s better than Winter, if only because Inferno Cop was that brilliant, but I can pass complete judgement upon all of the other anime seasons from this year. You suck, dudes, especially when compared to the shit I’ve already watched the past couple of days.

 

 

coppelionCoppelion

(What I’m assuming is) Tokyo is devastated by a nuclear accident. The place has turned into something resembling the landscape from that Tokyo Jungle video game. Dirty, filthy humans can’t survive without survival suit things. So the dirty, filthy humans create dirty, filthy, genetically-altered schoolgirls who can deal with radiation and whatever else has screwed up the world.

Look at it this way. Japan is one tsunami or earthquake away from this sort of thing really happening. Nuclear horror is branded into the Japanese cultural mindset. In the 50s, they reacted to this sort of thing with giant monsters like Godzilla. Monsters were relevant during that era. What’s relevant nowadays? Schoolgirls in short skirts with personalities that check off various otaku fetishes.

It’s a bit of a weird logical leap. Back in the kaiju days, we started with the big daddy monsters, and then after a few movies we got the kiddie monsters. In the new wave of atomic horror, we’re jumping over Godzilla and going straight to Minilla. We’re in the age of Moe Minilla, peeps. I guess it’s better than the age of Moe Godzooky.

The first episode was decent fluff. Stuff got shot. The backgrounds were pretty. I dug the thick outlines on the characters. It kept my attention enough that I wanna watch the next episode.

kanatalladas2Kyoukai no Kanata

What’s up with the prejudice against blood magic?

Yeah, I can get being against the stuff when it involves the blood of others. Peeps can get all sensitive and emo over blood sacrifices. But this chick is using her own blood. What’s so bad about that? It makes the whole “OMG BLOOD MAGIC BAD” crap that much worse– her being ostracized comes off as nothing more than a plot device to push her towards the main dude. Lame, dudes. Really, really lame.

But other than that (and almost everything else about that glasses girl), I kinda dug the first episode of this series. The fantastical is taken at face value. This shit is the norm and there’s no shock and awe over seeing something strange. From the viewer’s perspective, we’ve seen this sort of thing hundreds of times. We’re the desensitized ones, and in order for some of us to relate we have to have characters who are equally desensitized. Wonderment and awe just don’t work when everything that’s shoveled down the throat of the geek is this grandiose and genre-driven. So yeah, by making no big deal out of BIG DEALS, we’re getting something far more grounded and relatable.

am worried, because this is a KyoAni anime. Even when I like the premise behind one of their series, like with Chuunibyou, they usually find a way to go in the wrong direction. A lot of that is due to their source material. A lot of the things by them that have disappointed me have been light novels, and Kanata is just that. So I could say it’s not KyoAni’s fault, but then I look back at the first season of Haruhi and I realize this isn’t the case. They went out of their way to make that first season different. It wasn’t a straight adaptation of the light novels. They can do a real adaptation, rather than a simple screen translation, if they want to. So yeah, it’s KyoAni’s fault when they stay too loyal to a flawed source material.

So since I have no idea where this source material goes with its premise, I have to hope that either A) the light novel dares to do something different or B) KyoAni pulls a Haruhi and does something different. If this is yet another generic light novel, yeah, I’ll be pissed at some point this season.

Also: I bet that Mexican food sucked. Everyone knows you can’t get good Mexican food north of Austin, Texas.

killlakill2Kill la Kill

Utena Tenjou broke free from the world’s shell that is the animeverse. She ventured into the real world and met Go Nagai. They fell madly in love, and after decades of DNA tinkering and experimentation, they birthed the genetic Frankenstein that is Kill la Kill. That beast lumbered forth into a world frightened by its sheer awesomeness. The otaku hivemind didn’t know how to cope with such a beast, and it soon shorted itself out trying to comprehend that which clashed with its hardwiring. Somethingsomethingsomething Kill la Kill saved anime by destroying anime, and they all lived happily ever after.

The End.

I loved this thing. I fucking loved this thing. Talking clothing. Crucifixion and executions. Crazy superpowers. Crazy school councils. Crazy craziness. Crazy crazed craziness. Pretty much exactly what I want out of anime. I hope it never slows down its pace. I want Monster Student Council Members of the Week. I want fights that get progressively more ridiculous. I don’t want this thing to stop to breathe or think. Breathing and thinking are for nerds.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Frida permalink
    October 4, 2013 1:34 AM

    Ah ah ah, good points as always.
    I was actually looking forward to this!

    You didn’t mention anything about Kyousougiga. Did you watch it?

    Since I also didn’t read the manga (and there’s still only ep. out), I can’t say much about the plot.. but I love how is done graphically, is lovely mess of colours and objects flying around.. even when I think they’re not needed or shouldn’t be there… something is flying in the background, always catching my attention! Is almost like is done on purpose to make it more difficult to follow the plot!

    And there’re a couple of interesting elements, like this alternate reality, which seems to be video game style. And the physical manifestation of double personality of the main character (which is something I always enjoy!). Promising.

    Give it a shot and tell me how you like it!

    Frida

    • Landon permalink*
      October 4, 2013 11:45 AM

      I watched one of the Kyousougiga OVAs from a year or so ago and thought it was pretty decent. I forgot there was a TV Series that just started. Thanks for reminding me.

  2. gedata permalink
    October 4, 2013 12:15 PM

    The more Utena references I hear about this freaking thing the better it gets for me. Yes this’d work great for an episodic title, but it’s 2 cours. How’s it gonna fill all that time without getting stale? We’re gonna need a bit more then what we’re getting right now (even though what we’re getting is pretty dope)

  3. gedata permalink
    October 4, 2013 12:18 PM

    it’s a recap of the previous stuff this week, so my guess is that it’d a good idea to give it a second episode before bringing down judgement here

Got Something To Say?

