Skip to content

Self-Indulgence 14: Passed into Psychoness

February 11, 2013
by

2012psychoWhen this Psycho-Pass thing started, I didn’t care much for Akane. I was afraid she’d turn into some lame duck lead who was all ultrapositive and wanted to change this bleak, dystopian world and blahblahblah happy rainbows and everyone lives happily ever after in some cottage in the woods or something.

But as things have progressed, I’ve really started to like Akane. Dare I say I even kinda relate with her? Kinda, yeah. I’ll kinda dare.

So Akane’s thing is that she “tested” into her job. She went through school, was picked by Sybil to be an optimal student and citizen, and ended up qualifying for this Inspector job. Thing is, she’s hardly the sort of person who seems ideal for law enforcement. She’s a smart kid who understands the principles of her job, and she’s far from the doormat I was afraid she’s become based on the first episode, but she lacks the street smarts and degree of assertiveness you’d think a detective would need.

She’s where she is because an “objective” system placed her there. That’s pretty much my current work situation.

I currently work in standardized testing. In a lot of ways that’s about as close as we have to a “Sybil System” in real life– some supposedly impartial system designed to determine your worth in society based on intellectual capacity. I work on the scoring end of things. I can’t go too in-depth due to nondisclosure stuff, but my job consists of two things: 1) Training scorers how to score the written responses you see on these tests and 2) Meeting with clients to determine the criteria that helps determine how I train said scorers. While I have experience in several subject matters, my primary focus is Mathematics.

I am not a Math Guy.

I have a BA in English Lit. I studied literature, philosophy, writing, linguistics and ancient history in college. I didn’t take a math class my senior year of high school. I skipped Physics in high school in order to avoid more math. I took one math class in college, and that was only because it was a requirement of basic curriculum. It isn’t because I don’t get it or anything. I just don’t enjoy calculating stuff outside of adding up victory points in a board game.

But when I went for my interview for my current job, instead of an actual interview I was given an aptitude test in Reading, Writing, Science, Social Studies, and Math. I aced all of them, qualifying for work in any of said fields with my employer. Most people flunked the math portion of the test. So, due to the need for peeps to work in math, and despite being better qualified to deal with reading and writing stuff than most of the people who end up working in said subjects at my job, I’ve forever been seen as a Math Guy. Peeps are shocked when they discover all my academic background is in things so anti-math-like. It’s a pretty good niche that’s given me a steady job for the past six or seven years, but yeah, people who actually know me know that I’m in a position so far from my apparent skill set it’s funny.

That’s the main reason why Akane’s character has clicked with me. I can relate with being out of your employment comfort zone. Shame my job doesn’t come with a Dominator. That’d be awesome.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2013 10:43 PM

    I fear for what would happen if a Dominator was ever to enter your hands.

    • February 12, 2013 3:53 AM

      Awesomeness and the abolition of famine through the surplus of meat.

  2. Stef permalink
    February 12, 2013 7:53 AM

    My memory is a bit hazy, but I think it’s mentioned that Akane is in the police force because she asked to be there, even though she could do anything else she wanted.

    • February 12, 2013 11:43 PM

      I think Akane scored high in just about everything, so she had her pick. She picked the police ’cause there was no competition there. She was the only one to score high in that category. Which I guess is sort of the same deal with Landon and the whole math thing. Freaky.

Got Something To Say?

