Skip to content

Holiday

July 16, 2010

I thought I was gonna have oodles of time to blog while I was on this little business trip. That didn’t happen. Early mornings. Late nights. Sleeping early because of said early mornings and late nights. I’ve managed to squeeze a few new episodes in this week, along with a few movies, but no time or desire to do any real blogging. It also doesn’t help that the net connection here isn’t all that. Torrenting is out of the question, and streaming is a pain.

So, yeah, that explains the above picture. Well, other than the fact that Smile is awesome.

Watched the first two episodes of Shiki. Was digging it since it was giving off a Twin Peaks/rural messed-up shit horror vibe that I really dig– more about the feel of things and the atmosphere than the actual stuff that’s taking place. Then I made the mistake of reading a few blogs and hearing that it all boils down to vampires.

Now I love me some vampires, but really? All this creepy, slow-building tension and talk of epidemics and stuff that could lead into some cool psychological/spiritual social disease or something a little more abstract, and everything comes down to “the new people are vampires?” My desire to watch keep up with this series has fallen bigtime.

To make up for that underwhelming spoiler, here’s a video of Cookie Monster doing a parody of Twin Peaks on Sesame Street.

I did manage to torrent one thing before my connection went down the path of The Suck. I saw the second episode of Occult Academy. I’ll do a proper post when I get back in a week, but until then let me toss this idea out:

Occult Academy, Sora no Woto, and Senko no Night Raid, all of the Anime no Whatever series made by the same peeps, all take place in the same universe.

Night Raid and Academy both have peeps with psychic/super powers hidden in the shadows. Academy deals with an apocalyptic event, while Woto deals with the aftermath of an apocalyptic event. Said apocalypse involves aliens in weird robots while Woto has weird robot mecha things in it.

I’m going to put on my Crazy Conspiracy Theorist hat here and say that they’re all connected. Night Raid is the “past” of this world, Academy is the “present” and “near future” of the world, and Woto is the “far future.” Shame that only one of these three series is actually good, but at least it makes Night Raid and Woto a little more interesting in that light.

The live action Moyashimon series rocks. That’s all I can say about it since it’s a screwball comedy. Talking about why stuff is funny sucks. Just go watch the damn series already.

Predators? Decent but nothing special.

Sorcerer’s Apprentice? Surprisingly good, even if the main dude is way too much of a spineless dweeb. It’s like they stuck fucking Keitaro from Love Hina into a Nic Cage movie.

Inception? As awesome as advertised. The homage to The Spy Who Loved Me is brilliant.

Yeah, I’ve been making up for sucky net connections with seeing more movies than usual. There’s a goddamn movie theater within walking distance of my hotel.

 —

Still enjoying High School of the Dead despite its utterly generic approach to the zombie story. Again, it’s kinda like talking about comedy: It’s just something that’s there. You’re either gonna dig on the zombie thing or you aren’t, especially when nothing new’s being brought to the equation. Really don’t see how people are going to get much out of blogging this series episode by episode. It’d be like hitting pause every ten minutes on one of the recent lame Romero “of the Dead” flicks to write X amount of words about how zombies killed stuff and humans killed zombies yet again.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 17, 2010 12:22 AM

    SPOILERS
    Not sure if I want to watch Shiki anymore either. I hope the vampire thing was a misinterpretation.

Got Something To Say?

