Skip to content

Who’s That Person? – He’s Always Been Here. – What?!

June 14, 2010

As much as I love anime, there aren’t many anime characters I can relate with. When I was younger I related to Juri from Revolutionary Girl Utena a little too much for my comfort (Less the weird relationships and more in the self-defeating aspect of her character.), and I already talked about Sasahara from Genshiken awhile back.

That’s about it. I could toss Godai from Maison Ikkoku into the mix, but he’d be the only other character off the top of my head that I could remotely relate with from an anime.

But all of that changed this season. I finally found another anime character with whom I could relate:

The chick in the background from Working!!

Back in the day, between 2002 and 2003, I worked at Fiesta Texas. That’s Six Flags’ park here in San Antonio. I worked at the pizza joint in the park. I quit my gig as an arcade attendant to work there because I had some friends at said pizza joint and I wanted to hang out with them and shit. That didn’t work out, since one of my friends went and quit on me before I even started the job.

But that wasn’t the problem. The problem is that I was the only person working in the pizza joint that A) Was old enough to sell alcohol, B) Passed the TABC exam (The thing that says “Yes, you can legally sell alcohol.), and C) Didn’t steal fucking money from the till.

Essentially, when I was at work I did register since I was the only non-supervisor/manager that could.

This meant that I never had a chance to actually, like, hang out with the other employees. All sorts of drama and excitement and all that co-worker bullshit took place behind the counter, but I was completely isolated from that since the cash register was out on the floor. I couldn’t even hang out with the poor kids that got stuck on clean-up duty.

I was that guy in the background that no one knew because they were too wrapped up in their own little world to bother with him. EXACTLY like that girl with glasses in the background of Working!!

Poplar and Inami and Shrimp-Love-Boy and Beatrix Kiddo all run around having their cute little escapades and rarely do any actual work, and the only time we ever see the glasses girl is when she’s working. She never gets to go to hot springs or have sleepovers or participate in their weird fetishist games. She just works. She’s lucky to get a screen shot in each episode, and someone probably had to be bribed to stick her into that one frame of the opening sequence since no one gives a damn about her.

Maybe she’s happy that she isn’t the focus of everyone’s attention. I can feel that. Given some of the nonsense I saw people put up with “behind the counter,” I’m kind of glad I was out there behind the cash register and away from the action. At the same time I kinda wished I’d at least have my existence acknowledged by my co-workers. Yeah, I had a couple of friends there, but they were all people I knew before I started working there, and even then I barely got to do anything with them while at work. So if glasses chick is happy with not being a part of their reindeer games I don’t blame her.

At the same time, what the fuck is up with those pricks at Wagnaria? Don’t they realize that there’s someone out there actually covering their asses while they’re off in the back room talking about crossdressing and sadism and street gangs? They’re goofing off and pilfering the food supplies while glasses girl is out there making sure that the joint stays open and people actually get their goddamn food. She’s the only reason why y’all still have jobs, so give her some props.

You rock, nameless glasses girl. Not only can I relate to your plight, you’ve entered the pantheon of all-time awesome anime characters.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2010 8:47 PM

    You’re just a glasses fetishist.

    • Landon permalink
      June 14, 2010 9:23 PM

      Only because I like to punch people with glasses.

  2. June 14, 2010 9:30 PM

    AND AT NIGHT, SHE TRANSFORMS INTO A MASKED HERO WHO SAVES THE CITY FROM EVIL EVIL-DOERS OF EVIL.

    • Landon permalink
      June 14, 2010 9:34 PM

      Or IS an evil-doer of evil whose presence causes the chaos that erupts within the restaurant, and the final episode will be an epic battle between her and a random hero that comes out of nowhere.

      And she wins.

  3. deaky permalink
    June 14, 2010 9:55 PM

    I’ll hazard a guess.. she hangs out with Souma, but he doesn’t let her interact with the rest of the cast because she’s the M and he’s the S.

  4. June 14, 2010 10:53 PM

    You know who needs a Figma?

  5. June 15, 2010 2:51 AM

    I talked about the mysterious girl with my friends. At first I thought she was Yamada since you know she has all the wig/gadget/accessories needed. She only appear after Yamada appear right?

    • June 15, 2010 11:59 AM

      Nah, she was around long before Yamada was. I don’t recall if she was in the very first ep, but she was around since the early eps.

  6. June 15, 2010 8:05 AM

    Actually, she does have a name: Mitsumoto Maya. The doesn’t have a VA listed (take note, this happened for both Otou-san and Yamada before they joined the show) at the Working!! website, though it is listed that her personality is ‘normal than normal’.

    It’s her contact lenses that they used for Project: Kotori-chan by the way.

    • June 15, 2010 12:02 PM

      Yeah, I told Landon that, but he’s in total DENIAL that she has any mundane identity. Hehehe.

  7. Landon permalink
    June 15, 2010 2:19 PM

    Lalala I can’t hear you. Lalala she doesn’t have a name.

    But yeah, I’m aware that secondary sources give us the scoop, but having her be a faceless worker bee that’s not a part of the action is far more interesting.

Got Something To Say?

