Skip to content

Pre-Summertime Anime Season Moaning and Groaning and All That Nonsense

May 21, 2010

That time of existence again. Chartcigarette posts his stuff, peeps bitch and gripe about it.

Now I shall commence with my woes and crap.

High School of the Dead

Kinda funny how anime is about 20 years behind (give or take a few decades) when it comes to the zombie phenomenon. Zombies were old when I was a kid, and while I love me some brain-eating undead, the concept isn’t getting any newer.

But anime is behind. Way behind. Is this the first zombie-centric anime to be released, like, ever? There’s been plenty of zombie manga series, but I can’t think of a single anime where “undead plague” was even a minor plot point. There was that episode of Samurai Champloo where Jin and company died and became undead baseball players combating evil imperialist Americans (I could be confusing my episodes there.), but that’s about it.

About damn time, Animeverse. I’m not sure if High School of the Dead is going to be any good, but I’ll check it out for the relative novelty.

Seikimatsu Occult Gakuin

Sounds amusing enough. Even if it turns out as simple as “generic anime comedy that just happens to have monsters and shit,” it’ll be worth checking out. Haunted Junction was exactly that and it was pretty amusing back in the day. Then again, it’s a part of that Anime no Chikorita programing block. I hated Sora no Woto and Night Raid was disappointing, so I’m just a teensy bit concerned that the block won’ t deliver the goods.

And… um… that’s all I’m really looking forward to at first glance.

There’s a few other horrorish looking series on the list. I’m down with horror, and I’ll check them out, but they don’t quite “pop” right off the bat. I’m especially weary of Kuroshitsuji 2. The first season had plenty to like (Sebastian was a badass, the way they played out the Jack the Ripper story was cool.), but there was plenty to hate about it as well (It shifted tone violently and did a poor job of transitioning, often robbing important moments of drama in the process.). If the second season has a similar tone, I won’t dig it.

There’s plenty of comedy series as well. Most of them look pretty cookie-cutter-like, so I can’t say much about them at the moment. I felt the same way about Working! when I saw it on the last list and it turned out pretty decently. But, again, none of them stand out to me the way Arakawa did right off the bat. Plenty of stuff to check out but nothing to get excited over, unfortunately.

I can safely pretend that Strike Witches 2 doesn’t exist.

I’m disappointed that Legend of the Legendary Heroes doesn’t appear to be a send-up of fantasy series. It could be a case of poor translation, but with such a ridiculously redundant┬áname like that it’s a shame it isn’t being put to more appropriate use. I just can’t get excited over serious fantasy anymore. D&D’ll do that to a guy.

It isn’t listed on there, since it isn’t an anime, but the show I’m most looking forward to next season is the live action version of Moyashimon. The anime was pretty awesome, so it’ll be cool to see it play out with real peeps. CG spores and stuff rock.

So yeah, kinda hard to get too excited about next season at the moment. I’m sure some series I don’t have an eye on will turn out pretty good, but nothing’s really standing out at the moment.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2010 11:14 PM

    Whether it sucks or not, there’s no way I’m not blogging High School of the Dead. I cannot resist the call of the zombie.

  2. Topspin permalink
    May 21, 2010 11:46 PM

    My heart skipped a beat when I saw “Legend of the __ Heroes”, thinking “something new from Legend of the Galactic Heroes??” Of course that didn’t pan out, but I still can’t help but ponder whether they’ll name the next parody show “Galaxy of the Galactic Heroes” to overcompensate.

  3. May 22, 2010 4:12 AM

    Chartcigarrete…lolz

    Legend of the Legendary Heroes is intentionally redundant btw.

Got Something To Say?

