Skip to content

You’re Standing on My Neck

May 11, 2010
tags: ,
by

Some aspect of myself became complete today: Daria was finally released on DVD.

For the uninitiated, Daria was a cartoon that aired on MTV back in the late 90’s. It was born out of Beavis and Butthead, where a supporting character was removed from the context of said brilliantly crude cartoon and given her own show. Instead of being crass and gross, Daria revolved around teenaged cynicism, angst, and sarcasm.

Essentially, it encapsulated my feelings as a teenager and embodied my high school years (Despite not airing until 1997, a year after I graduated from high school.).

At the time I thought that was kind of weird, what with Daria being a girl and me being a guy. There was this sarcastic, cynical, almost nihilistic person who thought almost exactly like myself at that time. I identified with Daria in a way that I rarely identified with other characters. Most other fictional characters that I liked personified what I wanted to be. Daria, for all intents and purposes, was me. Except minus certain pieces of anatomy.

For an 18-year-old dude, it was something of a strange feeling to identify with a person of the opposite sex. It’s one thing to like or admire or lust after a woman at that age, it’s another to say “Damn, she’s me.” I got over that odd feeling pretty quick, since the idea that gender doesn’t really matter when it comes to hating the world around you. Call it a formative exercise in terms of gender understanding or something like that.

Anyway, after marathoning most of the first season, I can safely say that Daria is standing up to the test of time. Some of the references are decidedly 90’s (Mostly references to popular music and clothing styles.), but the series is still pretty damn funny. Loathing and sarcasm is eternal. I can place it on my DVD shelf alongside my Beavis and Butthead and Aeon Flux DVDs as a pagan idol in worship of 90’s MTV animation.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2010 9:29 PM

    It took so long, but I’m glad they finally managed to nail down all the music rights that were holding up the DVD release. I watched most of it in re-runs when I was in middle and high school, and felt the same way. It was humor that was really spot on for me, at the time and even watching it years later. The last season or so did have some angsty stuff that I wasn’t particularly fond of, but overall I loved the show. Going to have to buy the set, and I buy very few DVDs.

  2. May 11, 2010 10:41 PM

    Oh man, the DVD set is $28 on Amazon right now. So, so ridiculously tempting, even though there are other things I need to save for right now . . .

    But, yeah, I loved Daria back in the day. Man, next time I watch it I’m going to be flooded in nostalgia, haha.

  3. Landon permalink*
    May 14, 2010 12:06 AM

    Burned through the first two seasons. Apparently they replaced almost ALL of the music used when it aired on TV back in the day. Still has the theme song, but that’s about it.

    I didn’t notice that the music had been replaced until I got to the episode where they’re going on a road trip to a concert and they do a very blatant parody of REM’s Everybody Hurts. They DON’T use the song but they still make a comment about it being like that video. Other than that, I’m not missing the old “period” music.

Got Something To Say?

