Skip to content

The 23 of All-Time

April 25, 2010
by

I finally got around to doing my all-time favorite anime list.

Why 23, you ask?

You aren’t cleared for that, but I can say it has something to do with FNORD.

As I went through my list, I realized that I’ve yet to write a proper post about my three favorite series of all time: Revolutionary Girl Utena, Maison Ikkoku, and Cowboy Bebop. I’ve referenced them at times, but I’ve yet to write anything devoted to those series. I’ll have to rectify that in the future.

The fact that I skew so far towards action stuff isn’t the least bit surprising. The only series that aren’t the least bit “hit stuff’-ish are Genshiken, Azumanga, and Ikkoku. Hell, even Zetsubou has its violent moments. Rather proud that most of my favorite series involve blowing up shit.

And for being someone that’s been into anime for roughly 15 years, I’m a little surprised that so many of my favorite series are relatively recent. Bantorra just ended and Haruhi is still fresh on the general otaku public’s mind. The fact that my favorite Takahashi series is from the 80s likely paints me as a bit of a fossil (I can’t stand Inu Yasha.), but that’s about it. My bias will always lean towards stuff from the 80s and 90s, but there’s enough good stuff being made now to appeal to someone with my sort of taste.

For the record, a few series that didn’t quite make my list:

Detroit Metal City (Probably would have been 24. Sucks to be Krauser.), Boogiepop Phantom, Read or Die, Big O, Paranoia Agent, Welcome to the NHK, Tenchi Muyo

Again, no movies are on my list. I included OAVs this time around, but movies and series function in such a different manner that it doesn’t make sense for me to include them on the same list. It’d be like saying “What’s your favorite TV show” then someone says “The Godfather.” It just doesn’t jive. I’ll do a movie list sometime in the future.

I’m not sure if there’s something wrong with me not having any genuinely old series on my list. Ikkoku’s from the late 80s. I was alive in the late 80s. It feels weird to have a list of favorite series, but none of them are from before I was born.If you asked me what my favorite TV series were, I’d rattle off a few from before my time. I love The Munsters, The Twilight Zone, and all sorts of other TV shows. Even The Muppet Show aired for a few years before I was born, although it was still “relevant” when I was a little kid. I guess it’s due to the fact that it’s relatively hard to get a hold of older stuff in the States, since very few series were brought over from that era. I’ve seen Battle of the Planets/G-Force/Gatchaman. I’ve seen Speed Racer. I’ve seen a handful of the old 70s Super Robot shows. None of them stuck to me quite as much as more “modern” stuff. It isn’t a bad thing to not have any older series on my list, it just feels weird compared to my tastes in other mediums.

No comments yet

Got Something To Say?

