Skip to content

Self-Indulgence 4: 96 Blogs Enter, 1 Blog Leaves

April 18, 2010

I feel obligated to acknowledge the existence of the Aniblog Tourney. Everyone else is doing it, and since I’d jump off a bridge if everyone else was doing it, I may as well jump.

I dig the idea behind this tourney. It looks to be a decent opportunity for peeps like myself to drum up a little extra traffic in hopes of luring more people to drink the mechaguignol kool-aid and become loyal minions to my cause. Any extra attention is welcome.

I’m a bit shocked I met the criteria for getting into the “big dance,” mainly because this joint’s pretty young and I’ve made almost no effort into pimping it out other than getting it listed on Animenano’s little blog feed thingie. The description said something about Animeblips, a site that I signed up for a while back and then promptly forgot about, and Google somethingorother, something that I know little to nothing about. I lurk about a few blogs and post when I feel I have something worthwhile to say, but that’s about it. Whoring out my blog isn’t something that’s burning on my mind all that often.

This is because I do the whole blogging thing largely for myself and the amusement of a few friends.

I like to write. It’s my main creative outlet. Hell, my initial reason for majoring in English in college was due to my love of writing (Although I ended up loving linguistics more once I actually got deeper into my coursework, but that’s a completely different self-indulgence post.). The problem is that I have a nasty tendency to get sidetracked when I sit down and try to hammer out actual stories. That’s because I have numerous plots and storylines floating throughout my head at any given moment and I find it hard to decide which one should get my attention. That inaction, when allowed to linger and fester, leads to some pent-up urges to write. Insert a convenient sexual metaphor at your convenience.

All of that finally came to a head last October. I’d gone almost an entire year without making any progress on any of my personal fiction projects due to being fairly busy earlier in the year with work. Typical “you’re an adult and gotta do adult crap” crap. I had the time to write, but everything else robbed me of the desire to write with any sort of seriousness.

That was when I finally cracked and started doing an anime blog. I had the desire to do something like this since forever, but that urge to write finally won me over when I realized that blogging about anime wouldn’t have the sort of personal “blocks” that comes with trying to write original fiction. I wasn’t trying to craft some clever story based on years worth of plotting and scheming and mental character development. Blogging about anime would just be me sitting here and rifting on the shit that I watch. Nothing serious about that. It’d just be an outlet for my pent-up writing desire.

And I did it hoping that if I got those writing juices flowing again, I’d somehow motivate myself to do “real” writing again. It worked to a certain extent, since I’ve gotten a few things worked out over the past few months, but for the most part my writing urges are satisfied with Mecha Guignol.

I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or not, but at least I get a kick out of ranting about anime.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 18, 2010 1:24 PM

    If you do start again, be sure to post some of your stories up here. I’d love to read them.

Got Something To Say?

