Skip to content

All The Cool Kids Are Doing It: Arbitrary Spring Season Assumptions And Conclusion-Jumping

February 11, 2010

That Chartcigarette dude did his thing and posted a chartamajig for the spring. Here it is. Let the rampant speculation begin!

Read a chapter of Arakawa Under the Bridge. Looks like something Shaft’d do well. The first chapter dealt with a yuppie dude raised to never owe anyone anything falling off a bridge (due to a convoluted situation) and gets saved by a chick that apparently lives under the bridge. So this rich dude “owes” this homeless chick his life. Sounds like a sitcom scenario with a lot of potential.

Senko no Night Raid is looking to be my sort of anime. Period piece with spies and shit? Yes, please. The fact that it’s by the same peeps as Sora no Woto doesn’t bother me, since my beef with that series (shoehorning little inept girls into a situation in which they don’t belong) doesn’t seem to be at play here. Won’t be surprised if this ends up being my favorite of the upcoming season.

I have no idea how much Stan Lee “contributed” to Heroman, but I’m willing to give it a shot since he’s somehow involved. The plot sounds generic, and Bones is a studio that doesn’t always impress me (Eureka Seven and Wolf’s Rain? Barf.), but slapping Stan the Man’s name on it’ll at least get an episode or two out of me.

The Iron Man anime definitely looks cool. I’m not the biggest fan of Tony Stark (never cared for him during my comic geek days, only give a damn because Robert Downey Jr. was so awesome as him in the movie), but I have a good feeling about this one. Stark’s the sort of troubled hero you see in anime series, so I think they’ll handle him well if they stick relatively close to his storyline from the comics. At the very least it should be a pretty action show with some snazzy robot stuff.

House of Five Leaves will hopefully allow me to forgive Manglobe for that godawful Sacred Blacksmith anime. Sounds like a generic samurai anime, but the same could be said about Samurai Champloo and it was A) made my Manglobe and B) not the least bit generic. Got my hopes up for this one.

All of those KEY series, like Clannad and shit, have been pretty awful, but the story for Angel Beats sounds amusing and it has a Haruhi cosplayer with a gun. It has my attention, but I’m worried it’ll turn into another KEY borefest.

The only series that makes me want to put a bullet in my head is Sis x Kiss, and I’m weary of anyone that doesn’t feel the same way. Otherwise, everything else is either something I already know I don’t care about (We can do without another K-On season, but I don’t HATE it.) or I don’t know enough about it to really say anything.

I have a good feeling about the spring. Lots of stuff that looks watchable, very little in way of stuff that makes me lose all faith in humanity.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Bob (joojoobees) permalink
    February 11, 2010 4:59 AM

    Heh. I pretty much agree with your assessment. I hope House of Five Leaves turns out to be a winner. I guess I’ll check out Heroman, but the synopsis doesn’t sound like they got their money’s worth out of Stan ‘the man’.

    In general it looks like a decent season, so I’ll be checking a lot of first episodes out, to see if the show is worth following.

  2. Topspin permalink
    February 11, 2010 10:27 AM

    Night Raid sounds indeed promising. I’m also hoping that “Hakuoki: Shinengumi Kitan” will be interesting, and Arakawa might turn out better than I’m guessing (oh, who am I kidding? It’s by SHAFT).

Got Something To Say?

