Skip to content

Let’s Talk About Next Season

December 7, 2009

Mainly because I’ve felt lousy the past few days and don’t have the goods to do a real post that requires actual writing.

Y’all have seen that info-collage that tells y’all which series are airing during the winter season, right? The one that half of the other anime blogs have posted? If you haven’t seen it, you can go to this joint to check it out.

Yeah, I think the site’s name is stupid too, but what can you do?

Anyway, I the only anime I can all but guarantee myself I’ll like is Durarara! (or DRRR! or however else it’s supposed to be spelled in English). It’s a spiritual sequel to Baccano!, since it’s by the same novel writer and has a similar big-cast-loosely-involved-with-each-other plot. That alone caught my attention, since Baccano’s one of my all-time favorite anime series. The blurb also appealed to my tastes, which I’ll paraphrase below:

“…an ensemble cast of *insert normal-ish people* and a headless Irish fairy.”

Headless Irish Fairy. Awesome.

I know nothing else about this series beyond a few pictures, the above blurb, and the preview that’s been floating about for a while that’s imbedded above. I hope the song they used in that preview is an indication of the direction they'[re heading with the music. Jazzy horns with some Arabian fused into it. Not that every bit of music needs to sound like that, but I hope they’re going for a modern jazz score. Beats generic electric and squeaky-voiced J-pop crap any day.

Other than DRRR!, Vampire Bund sounds interesting. The plot sounds like it has potential, and SHAFT’s visual style is always good, but I’m concerned that it’ll be yet another “cool premise ruined because it’s about some cute girl doing cute suff and nothing else.” With current trends, I wouldn’t be surprised if a secret war to reveal vampires to the public is turned into another pseudo-slice-of-life borefest. Hell, reading the description for SO-RA-NO-WO-TO, it looks like they’ve taken an interesting war scenario and turned it into K-ON. I’m sure the next full-on Gundam series will be about four high school girls who live in a Gundam universe but never see a Gundam and only talk about Gundams once every couple of episodes. That’s the sad direction we seem to be heading towards, and I’m not even a Gundam fan.

Nothing else on tap for next season looks interesting, and some of the series make me want to cry. A series like Qwasar makes me want to cry in the corner and never watch anime again, likewise with Chu-Bra.

Yeah, I’ll head over to that corner right now.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2009 6:29 PM

    gotta say i’m looking forward to Durarara as well. in fact it’s all i’m looking forward to. have slight hopes for some other series but not much. LOL at so-ra-no-wo-to = k-on… i super hope it won’t be like that cause i didn’t like k-on at all.

  2. December 7, 2009 7:35 PM

    Ohhhhh, now this has me interested in Durarara! And that song they have for the trailer is freaking awesome. It reminds me of the soundtrack to simcity 4.

    Bund is probably gonna be good too – especially if shaft is doing it.

    I read the summery for Quasar on chartfag’s chart – I wanted to throttle the creators by the neck until they passed out/died.

  3. Kairu permalink
    December 8, 2009 3:39 AM

    DRRR is the next Bakemonogatari.

  4. December 8, 2009 11:50 AM

    I think I’m most interested in Okami Kakushi, Vampire Bund, and Durarara. I’m not too sure what they latter is about either, but I loved Baccano so much that I’m willing to watch it based on that alone.

Got Something To Say?

